Unexpected Friendships

I sit here this morning enjoying a latte made by one of my favorite baristas at the Starbucks I have visited weekly for many, many years. Sadly, it is closing tomorrow. The lease is up and the shopping center  where they are located will be demolished to make way for the Light Rail Transit area here in Lynnwood.

Amy,Melody, Kirsten, Erika, Daria, Abby and Krystal have brightened many of my mornings with their smiles, laughter and of course their gift of creating AWESOME lattes.We have come to know a bit about each other through our brief encounters over the years. I am going to miss our encounters.

Each one of them has touched my heart in so many ways, that I truly think of them as friends. These are what I call ” unexpected” friendships  and consider them a blessing that formed from brief moments spent together.

Amy’s love for her family, faith and friends is expressed through her smile and grace. I am thrilled that she will not be too far away and that we are now Facebook Friends.

Melody’s involvement with hosting trivia over the years has stretched our friendship beyond the coffee bar. We have been joining her once  month for trivia for a few years now, and love it. We have now made it  a standing ” date” with some close friends, which is a great way for us to make sure we get together more often.

Kristen and I both love to garden. I think we both could be farm girls, if not too far from city life. She has a laugh and smile that is so infectious, you cannot help but be happy for the whole day.

After a very difficult morning we stopped in and Erika was at the bar. She asked how our day was and both my husband and I started tearing up, as we had just dropped off our dog Kaya who passed away the night before, for cremation. Here genuine care for us at that moment was truly felt ad that moment has stuck with me this past year. We are hoping that we will see her at the drive- thru for what we call ” Latte Friday”.

I could go on for pages about how special these individuals are. However, all good things must come to end for the next chapter to begin. I am blessed

I wish Abby all the best in her studies of becoming a nurse. I hope Daria and Krystal enjoy their new locations and continue to brighten the days and lives of the customers they greet each day.

 

“Unexpected Friendships” are true blessings and I am grateful for the ones in my life. Cheers and all the best !

Until next time,

Willey Nilley Ellen

Leave a Reply

